The total solar eclipse of 08/27/1840

General data

Day of week: Thursday
Maximum duration of eclipse: 01m45s
Maximum width of eclipse path: 83 km
Saros cycle: 142
Coverage: 100%
Magnitude: 1.0195
Gamma: -0.6223

Wo kann man die Sonnenfinsternis vom 08/27/1840 sehen?

Die Sonnenfinsternis am 08/27/1840 kann man in 47 Ländern als partielle Sonnenfinsternis beobachten.
Der Finsternispfad verläuft durch 9 Länder. Nur in diesen Ländern ist sie als total Sonnenfinsternis zu sehen.

In den folgenden Ländern ist die Sonnenfinsternis total zu sehen

worldmap Angola
worldmap Democratic Republic of the Congo
worldmap Zambia
worldmap Tanzania
worldmap Mozambique
worldmap Malawi
worldmap Madagascar
worldmap Comoros
worldmap Mauritius

In den folgenden Ländern ist die Sonnenfinsternis partiell zu sehen

How will be the weather during the total solar eclipse on 08/27/1840?

Where is the best place to see the total solar eclipse of 08/27/1840?
The following maps show the average cloud coverage for the day of the total solar eclipse. With the help of these maps, it is possible to find the place along the eclipse path, which has the best chance of a cloudless sky. Nevertheless, you should consider local circumstances and inform about the weather of your chosen observation site.

The data is provided by NASAs satellites AQUA and TERRA. The cloud maps are averaged over a period of 17 years (2000 - 2017).

Detailed country maps

worldmap Angola
worldmap Democratic Republic of the Congo
worldmap Zambia
worldmap Tanzania
worldmap Mozambique
worldmap Malawi
worldmap Madagascar
worldmap Comoros
worldmap Mauritius

Cities inside the path of the eclipse

The following table shows all locations with a population of more than 5,000 inside the eclipse path. Cities which have more than 100,000 inhabitants are marked bold. A click at the locations opens a detailed map.

City Type Eclipse duration Local time of max. eclipse Distance to central line Ø Cloud coverage
AO  Uacu Cungo, Kwanza Sul total 17s 05:26:28 UTC+00:13 11 km 15%
ZM  Kawambwa, Luapula total 40s 07:28:17 UTC+02:10 13 km 9%
MW  Karonga, Northern Region total 50s 07:32:52 UTC+02:10 13 km 10%
TZ  Mahanje, Ruvuma total 28s 07:51:16 UTC+02:27 27 km 45%
TZ  Nachingwea, Lindi total 33s 07:55:57 UTC+02:27 29 km 44%
TZ  Lukuledi, Mtwara total 1m 4s 07:56:17 UTC+02:27 8 km 49%
TZ  Masasi, Mtwara total 1m 4s 07:56:31 UTC+02:27 8 km 48%
TZ  Chiungutwa, Mtwara total 48s 07:57:00 UTC+02:27 23 km 42%
TZ  Namalenga, Mtwara total 37s 07:57:16 UTC+02:27 28 km 33%
TZ  Lulindi, Mtwara total 1m 2s 07:57:06 UTC+02:27 13 km 43%
TZ  Newala Kisimani, Mtwara total 46s 07:57:30 UTC+02:27 24 km 31%
TZ  Kitangari, Mtwara total 1m 5s 07:57:06 UTC+02:27 10 km 46%
TZ  Luchingu, Mtwara total 57s 07:57:29 UTC+02:27 18 km 37%
TZ  Mahuta, Mtwara total 1m 3s 07:57:35 UTC+02:27 12 km 51%
TZ  Nanhyanga, Mtwara total 1m 8s 07:57:37 UTC+02:27 3 km 51%
TZ  Namikupa, Mtwara total 1m 7s 07:57:44 UTC+02:27 5 km 51%
TZ  Tandahimba, Mtwara total 1m 7s 07:57:38 UTC+02:27 5 km 51%
TZ  Kitama, Mtwara total 1m 5s 07:57:43 UTC+02:27 11 km 58%
TZ  Nanyamba, Mtwara total 1m 0s 07:57:48 UTC+02:27 16 km 64%
KM  Moroni, Grande Comore total 1m 15s 08:04:15 UTC+02:27 5 km 62%
KM  Ouella, Grande Comore total 1m 16s 08:04:12 UTC+02:27 1 km 62%
KM  Mitsamiouli, Grande Comore total 44s 08:03:46 UTC+02:27 30 km 46%
KM  Mbéni, Grande Comore total 1m 4s 08:04:06 UTC+02:27 20 km 28%
KM  Sima, Anjouan total 1m 0s 08:06:38 UTC+02:27 24 km 41%
KM  Moutsamoudou, Anjouan total 1m 10s 08:06:46 UTC+02:27 17 km 58%
KM  Mirontsi, Anjouan total 1m 11s 08:06:46 UTC+02:27 16 km 58%
KM  Ouani, Anjouan total 1m 14s 08:06:45 UTC+02:27 13 km 51%
KM  Barakani, Anjouan total 1m 14s 08:06:46 UTC+02:27 13 km 51%
KM  Mkiriwadjumoi total 45s 08:07:04 UTC+02:27 31 km 34%
KM  Moya, Anjouan total 46s 08:07:04 UTC+02:27 31 km 34%
KM  Chandra, Anjouan total 1m 9s 08:06:55 UTC+02:27 18 km 48%
KM  Koni-Djodjo, Anjouan total 1m 5s 08:07:00 UTC+02:27 21 km 48%
KM  Adda-Douéni, Anjouan total 55s 08:07:08 UTC+02:27 27 km 37%
KM  Mramani, Anjouan total 43s 08:07:17 UTC+02:27 32 km 37%
KM  Domoni, Anjouan total 1m 4s 08:07:08 UTC+02:27 22 km 37%
MG  Hell-Ville, Diana total 1m 25s 08:15:17 UTC+02:27 8 km 20%
MG  Ambanja, Diana total 1m 23s 08:16:07 UTC+02:27 12 km 34%
MG  Ambarakaraka, Diana total 1m 9s 08:16:30 UTC+02:27 26 km 21%
MG  Ambodivoara, Sava total 1m 30s 08:20:01 UTC+02:27 3 km 77%
MG  Sambava, Sava total 1m 26s 08:20:14 UTC+02:27 13 km 56%
MG  Ampahana, Sava total 58s 08:21:13 UTC+02:27 32 km 67%